Lower marker lights

I don’t know how many times during compliments I hear, “Nice bobber”. The Forty Eight was designed to resemble the 1948 Harley and most people I run into either have never heard of it or have no clue what it is and it’s assumed I ‘bobbed’ a bike.

We can do some some basic mods that will bring it closer to that illusion.

Dropping the maker lights down lower on the fork is one of them and an easy one. Let’s get started!

Here is what the default looks like.

What we want to do is bring them down to under the head lamp on the fork tree.
(when doing this, only do 1 side at a time!)

Grab your Torx T45 bit and unbolt the marker light.  You will notice a metal notch that keeps the light “centered”.  This notch needs to come off because the lower fork mount doesn’t have the space for it.  I used a hacksaw.

Then use a file to file the cut smoother.

Be sure to bring the washer down with the assembly as well, and put the bolts back where they where (they are not the same bolts).  ((ie, the one with the weird groove goes on the lower fork))

Bolt them back up and center the light how you like it.
Now repeat for the other side.

Done. Looks much better to me.
The wires will be long enough, but I did ziptie the left side due to it being too long after the move.

2 thoughts on “Lower marker lights

  1. I appreciate what you’re trying to do and the 48 is a fantastic looking bike. I’ve always had Electra Glides, and currently own an Ultra Limited and a Springer Classic, but I’d love to have a 48 to go with them. But where are turn signals called “marker lights”? I assume it’s a regional thing. But they look way better where they were to being with, anyway. I’m lucky to live in a state that lets us remove them altogether. Makes my Springer look even more Classic. Enjoy your riding.

  2. I know this is an old post, but I stumbled on it and I have to comment. The name of the 48 is due to the first year the peanut tank was used by Harley, 1948. The bike in question was the 125-S and it doesn’t have even the remotest resemblance to the modern ’48’ Sportster outside of the tank itself. Your bike is still a Sportster and the only Harley in history it looks like is, a Sportster. The first Sportster rolled out in 1957 and the modern Sportsters of today still look remarkably like it:

    Additionally, a “bobber” was traditionally a bike that had every unnecessary part stripped off it to improve its performance. The modern ’48’ Sportster is a “factory bobber” due the fact that it comes from the factor pretty sparse, has a bobbed rear fender, bobbed front fender, solo seat, wide front tire, and little other fluff. It is for this reason people refer to your bike as a bobber when they see it, and technically speaking, they aren’t wrong since your bike is a factory bobbed Sportster with a 1948 style peanut tank.

    Anyway, I hope you’re still riding and enjoying your bike.

Leave a Reply

